The Four Great Heavenly Kings live on the first level of the Six Desirous Heavens, which is located halfway up Mount Sumeru, and is situated near the human realm. The tip of the mountain is the home of Taishaku (Indra). 

The Four Great Heavenly Kings abide respectively on the four sides of the mountain. Their Dharma implements suppress demons and eliminate evil influences. 

Wind, Harmony, Rain, and Prosperity are four divine attributes characterizing the Heavenly Kings. "Wind" refers to the blade of the precious sword which is used to protect all sentient beings; "Harmony" refers to the stringed instrumentplayed to benefit the world; "Rain" refers to the umbrella, employed to subjugate demons; "Prosperity" is the dragon, which uses its heavenly sight to observe and safeguard the human realm. 

The Heavenly Kings are:

Dai Bishamon Tenno or Tamon Tenno (Sanskrit Vaisravana, “Son of Visravas,” the Famous or Renowned), is #4 on the Gohonzon Diagram. He is lord of the north, the best known and most venerated of the Heavenly Kings. He is said to have practiced austerities for a thousand years and been rewarded with great wealth. He is also called Kuvera, the “God of Wealth.” In his palace in the Himalayas, he is attended by Yaksas (guardians of the earth's treasures) and Kinnaras (horse-headed celestial musicians — similar to Greek centaurs). Statues often show Dai Bishamon Tenno with a sword, trident, or banner (representing his triumphs) in his right hand and a vessel or stupa containing treasure in his left. Sometimes he is shown holding a mongoose, representing his victory over the Nagas. 

Dai Jikoku Tenno (Sanskrit Dhritirastra, literally “Guardian of the Nation”), is #13 on the Gohonzon Diagram. He is lord of the east, the king of the Gandharvas, celestial musicians, and feeders on fragrance. He is often depicted holding a sword and/or a stringed musical instrument (representing the Gandharvas).

Dai Zojo Tenno (Sanskrit Virudhaka, literally “Sprouting Growth”), is #27 on the Gohonzon Diagram. He is lord of the south, the king of the Kumbhandas (demons shaped like gourds, or with a scrotum like one, and who drain the vitality of men). He is often depicted holding a sword and trampling a demon. His helmet is often shown as being made from the skin of elephant's head.

Dai Komoku Tenno (Sanskrit Virupaksa, literally “Ugly Eyes,” “Deformed Eyes," or “The Evil-Eye”), is #33 on the Gohonzon Diagram. He is lord of the west, the king of the Nagas (Serpents or Dragons). He is also called “Wide Eyed” or “Three Eyed.” He personifies the awareness of evil. He is often depicted holding a jewel in the form of a reliquery in his right hand (representing his remembrance) and a serpent in his left (representing the power of the serpent).
Name in Japanese: 
Zojo Tenno
Jikoku Tenno
Bishamon Tenno 
or Tamon Tenno
Komoku Tenno
Tseg-Chang Tien-Wong 
Ch'i-Kuo Tien-Wong 
Pi-Sha-Men Tien-Wong or To-Wen Tien-Wong 
Kwang-Mu Tien-Wong
Vaisravana (Kuvera) 
English Meaning: 
“Growing Large” 
“Protector of the Nation”
“Very Famous” 
“Wide Eyes”
Lapis Lazuli Peak
Golden Peak 
Crystal Peak 
Silver Peak
Attended by: 
Pretas & Kumbhandhas 
Pisacas & Gandharvas 
Yaksas & Raksasas Kinnaras 
Putanas & Nagas